Alone and Awesome

Being single, silly, and secure

So Sweet!

Good day, my sugar-ingesting peoples~!

I’m going to rant a little about something I’ve been researching. Just remember everything below are my own thoughts and opinions. I don’t want you to take my word for gospel, but I do want you to have something to mull over today.

So!

Fun time doing research for eating healthy. I personally have been making small healthy changes, since I don’t believe a “diet” is the right way to go. Swapping out things you like with similar things that are a bit healthier are what I prefer. Small changes that won’t make your system freak out, nor will it depress you. Very much recommend.

So, my next step is watching my sugar intake. It drives you crazy at first, and I honestly started to panic, because Everything Has Sugar In It! I was thinking of who could take the sugary food I have, (I hate wasting food), and I was doing research also.

Highly recommend looking into many different studies, reading blogs, and figuring out something that’ll work for you. Because it’s your life and if eating good food brings you joy, (it TOTALLY brings me joy! I love food so much!), you don’t want to avoid what you love. There are better and healthy alternatives, and also a simple rule that I am going to start living by.

All things in moderation.

Taking a smaller slice of cake, a small bowl of ice cream, a few crackers, and things like that can make a huge difference over time. What you need to do is be persistent.

And drink water or tea when you “feel” hungry.

Because often times we aren’t hungry, we’re just bored.

As a side note, I hate the taste of Stevia. I can taste it in everything it’s put in and it makes me shudder. I don’t know why, but Stevia and I do not mix. So I personally like avoiding artificial sweeteners, but let me tell you something, in my hunt for things without artificial sweeteners you’ll find it is nearly impossible to find low-sugar options without artificial sweeteners.

And thus, I sigh…

If you dislike your current state of health, or your size, or anything else and want to change, I suggest making small changes to your diet, as well as eating smaller portions. You may be hungry, but filling up on seconds isn’t the best idea, even if the food you’re eating is healthy.

Do your research. If anything confuses you, go look it up and read more than one or two articles. The more you know the better choices you’ll be able to make for yourself and your lifestyle. There’s no “fool proof” way to create a healthier life, and honestly there are no shortcuts either. You need to build a healthy lifestyle to maintain a healthy life.

So, that explains why I don’t like diets, huh?

One other thing people hate to hear is that you need to exercise. I know it’s a pain to get up and take a 20min walk. We have a variety of options and no excuses. As you know, I train in martial arts, and as a teacher I know I need to maintain a good level of fitness for not only training, but playing around with my students and not being too winded afterwards.

Must have energy for teaching! Though draining your energy while sparing and grappling is fun so I tend to exhaust myself when I play.

I digress.

If you’re new to working out you have a variety of options. For cardio I like to go on YouTube and do one of the Walk At Home videos. Follow the link to their YouTube Page if you’re interested.

There is also in-place cardio if you live in a small apartment. Doing weight lifting mixed with intervals of cardio is fun also, just set a 20 minute timer and have fun until the timer goes off. I do that when I don’t feel like taking orders from anyone, hah!

Treadmills, stationary bicycles, going for a walk, join a gym, (I don’t like working out around others so I’ve never spent time in a gym, but if that’s your thing, you do you).

It’s a fact that you need to move. Food is fuel. But if it’s “fueling” you sitting on the couch then it’ll collect inside you instead of being burned up.

Make sense…?

I started to try only eating as much nutrients as I needed for the day. If I have work or class I make sure to have good meals for lots of fuel. If I know I’ll be writing or sitting down a lot, I choose lighter options so I have less to burn off. I decided on this for myself after doing my own research.

Once again, go research stuff. Read about whatever interests or confuses you and gain some head knowledge on these matters. You’ll be surprised how a lot of studies encourage one thing, and other’s discourage it. You need to find the factors that repeat and try to see through the writers own theories.

Like my writing. I told you already, don’t take my word for gospel. I’m just a blogger who wants to encourage other people to make healthy lifestyle choices. Not a scientist.

Nope. Not one of them.

Everyone lives a different lifestyle. There really is no “one size fits all” answer to healthy living, but I know you shouldn’t discourage yourself by refusing yourself the foods you love. You also need to remember results don’t show up in the first day, or sometimes even in the first week. And you will go through “withdrawals” as I am going to with my reduced-sugar change in my diet.

Yay.

Can’t wait.

I had a little ice cream, and that put me over my sugar intake for the day, so when I’m done writing this blog I’m going to workout for 30 mins or more, then do some yoga also.

I hope I’ve managed to encourage you with this post. Here’s one of my favorite songs to encourage you!

Hah, I felt cheesy saying that.

Enjoy~

I’m going to go get myself a good calorie burn and then get back to editing the book I finished.

Oh, that reminds me. I may have mentioned this already, but I recreated my website for my publishing company. If you’re interested in it, or want to see what kinds of books are available, (My books are the ones authored by E. L. Mendell (who is me)), so check it out. The link can be found below. Books are in Inventory, and I have 3 that are on their way to being published, (no, they aren’t all mine), just dealing with some hiccups in processing information. They should be done by now… oh well…

Have a great weekend!!!

E. L. M.

Visit my website: snowdragonpublishing.com

Photo by Suzy Hazelwood, pexels.com

Leave a comment