Alone and Awesome

Being single, silly, and secure

Oh, For the Love of Dog!

Good Day, my fine fellow friends of flawless fearlessness!

Or…something…

I guess the title of this is different than usual, huh? I was on vacation this last weekend. I went to the lake on my own to spend time in a healing state of mind. Life has been crazy, so I went to the lake on a solo mission to clear my head and reconnect with the things that make me who I am.

Sounds kind of deep, huh?

Well, it didn’t work as well as I expected.

You see, traveling alone felt natural. And I don’t really want a person to travel with, since people quickly get on my nerves. A friend of mine suggested I get a dog to travel with.

Oh joy! That actually sounded like a grand idea! I love dogs, but the problem is I can’t have a dog in my apartment. That and I don’t have the time to take good care of a dog. The poor thing would be alone for 9+ hours every day, and then the days I have class, and other such things. Not only that, but I would have to train it to enjoy car rides.

Chaos!

But the idea had me searching shelter websites and looking at dogs that need to be adopted.

THIS WAS A BAD IDEA!!!

My poor empathetic heart wished I could start adopting dogs right now!

I’m sure one day I’ll be able to get a dog. I know I won’t be where I am forever, and most likely won’t have the job that I have forever, (I mean, it’s factory work and I so dearly want more than that…). Maybe one day I’ll be able to have a dog as my one-and-only.

I guess this was, all-together, a strange post. I have just been thinking hard about it.

A few days ago I saw a man mistreat a dog. It was just a moment as he dragged the dog into his apartment while yelling at it. The dog was leaning back all it’s weight against the leash and I heard his claws scrape the concrete. All I could think was, “Why didn’t that dog want to go in?” And in the same moment I figured, “His owner must be a real jerk.” And I stood outside the door they had vanished into. I moved on before someone happened to wonder why I was there…

Since that day I wondered why people would get a dog if they were only going to mistreat it. Do we even realize how cruel we can be? It’s not a toy for your entertainment, it’s a living creature…

I guess it’s always bugged me how we don’t see our own blindness… people treat other people with the same amount of cruelty and we don’t bat an eye at it—I’m included in this! I have been cold to many people, and I don’t understand how it is I keep on being this way.

Do we even care…?

I guess not…

I still believe that you can tell a lot about a person by how they treat their family and their pets.

Every person is an open book, we just close our eyes because we’d rather judge by the cover instead of take a moment to read their description.

Does that sound too odd…?

Well, I need to get back to my writing. If I want to leave my factory job and get a dog then I need to work harder as a writer and a publisher.

Have a wonderful day, my friends!

And to those whom it applies, Happy Independence Day!

E.L.M.

Follow me on:
Twitter
Facebook

Or check my website:
snowdragonpublishing.com

Thank you!

Leave a Reply

