Alone and Awesome

Being single, silly, and secure

Encouragement For The Weekend

Good morning, my lovely peoples!

It is dark and rainy today and I am waiting with great anxiety and excitement!

Why?

Because today I will be testing for 2nd kyu! (second-to-last kyu (colored rank) in the system of martial arts I study in, which is Shinsei Hapkido).

This post will be short, (at least I think it will be).

Being this close to black belt is almost frightening, but there’s a great joy that comes with it. To see how far I’ve come is one of those joys. I was once a silent girl with no confidence and no drive for life. Now I’m a loud, confident, and overwhelmingly honest person that looks forward to what the future has to hold for me.

I am nowhere near being “the best” at any of this. I have strengths and weaknesses just like anyone else, but the person I’ve become is my greatest achievement. I may be able to land someone larger than me on their back, or not, but I can look someone else in the eye until they shrink away. I can hold my end of a discussion. I can listen and not speak until it’s needed. I can walk out of my house knowing that I have no reason to fear other people.

This last one is not only because I am a martial artist, but because I am a believer in Jesus Christ, (commonly called “Christian”). My faith has gone through ups and downs. There are times when I don’t seek God, and times when I cling to him and nothing else. Life is like this, and to you who think you’re in a bad place, know you’re not the only one. We all have ups and downs. We all go through hard times. Find the strength you need to move on, but know that nothing outside of yourself will give you the strength.

Outside of you, there could be encouragement and good ideas to help you along, but when it comes right down to it, the only thing that makes you get up in the morning is you. Your will. Your own internal motivation is what will get you through the day, the week, the month. You.

I need to get myself mentally prepared for my test now, so I’ll leave you with this.

No matter where you are or what you’re going through, there is Nothing New Under The Sun. You’re not alone, and others will understand what you’re feeling.

Have a wonderful weekend, and Happy Memorial Day, too.
God bless those brave soldiers who defended our freedom.
May we never forget…

E.L.M.

Leave a Reply

