Alone and Awesome

Being single, silly, and secure

From One Writer to Another

Greetings, my peoples. Another week is over, (thank freaking goodness!). Can I get an Amen?!

*pauses for response*

If you actually did that, I will be pleased.

Okay, onto the topic.

As a writer there are many sayings and things of that nature to help my kind feel inspired or motivated. Sadly, writing is as much a chore some days as cleaning house, washing dishes, working out, or cooking. Writers suffer like normal humans beings! Only, to us, there is more than one world we are suffering in. We tend to throw out suffering into both worlds, just to make it fair.

Now… where was I going with this…?

Oh yeah!

“Write for yourself not for your audience.”

A lot of writers have heard this, and a lot of them, to my surprise, think it’s terrible advice. I think it is the best advice for a writer! Especially for one like myself who writes fantasy, adventure, fiction, and the like. I can hardly change my story every time the world starts to favor some new undead creature. Werewolves. Vampires. Zombies. Okay, I’ve had to change the enemy seven times because it’s taken me three years to get this far in my manuscript! (Note: That’s simply how I perceive it).

Writing for the market you want to sell in makes sense. Writing for the age group you want reading your work is also great.

Writing for the hottest selling genre atm is NOT going to end well for a lot of us.

Am I sounding rude yet?

No?

I  need to try harder…

So I love stories that have a lot of heart. A lot of action. A lot of character development, (if the main character does not have issues to fix at the beginning of the story and stays perfect the whole way I throw the book out and then set my house on fire. Wait…).

When I write, I want people to be excited about those same things.

When I read through my own work, I want to be just as entranced by the story as my readers. I want to be surprised like they are. I want to fall for my own writing tricks and make myself think, “Geeze, that was pretty cool.” We can love what we do, right? I’m nowhere near being one of the best writers on this planet, and I am pretty darn sure I may never be internationally known, but I enjoy stories too much to ever stop writing for that reason.

I call myself a writer, but in reality I am a Storyteller. It is the stories that I love. Taking people with me on this adventure, pointing out things they need to see, mentioning hints that could help reveal the future of the main character. Weaving twisted paths. Hiding secrets in the sidelines. Pulling out surprises that leave you wondering what is coming next. The thrill of a good story that pulls you in and throws you off a cliff is simply too exciting! When I write that is all I can think!

I can’t wait for people to read this!” “I hope this part flows well enough.” “Oh my gosh, I can’t believe I didn’t put this together at the starting.” “Ah! What a great plot twist!” “Dang it, Main Character! Do what I tell you to do for once!

Above = common thoughts for a writer.

Ever since I purchased my new tablet I have placed one story on it to work on. Only. One. Story…

*cringe of pain*

For me this hurts because, currently, I have four really exciting stories I’m working on, and then about twenty I’m hoping to finish and still very interested in, and then the other hundred that are in need of rewriting and editing and finishing, but are still too good to delete or throw away. (Note: Rule #1 of being a writer. NEVER THROW AWAY YOUR WORK!*)

*On this note, I want you to understand that some work, if it is seen as something wrong, or something you need to burn and send back to hell, (since if we write what we feel, sometimes that needs to be destroyed lol). Those stories are not the ones I am talking about here. The ones here are those ideas you get and start to write and then say “This is crap” and throw out. DON’T DO THIS. Every story has potential. I’m rewriting a story I wrote when I was 15 and it is INCREDIBLE. Never throw out your work. Ever.

Back on topic.

The reason I have only put one story on my tablet is not to save space in it’s tiny little hard drive.  It is because this intensifies my focus and forces me to work on this story alone. I take it with me where I go and work on the story at home or in my room, or even on my porch. I write everywhere and this story, which I have been working on for the past two months, (I think…) Is nearing completion. I have mapped out how it will end, and am now in the final events.

Just! Like! THAT!!! The story is so close to being finished in hardly ANY time at all because I have forced myself to focus on it alone, (I also read on my downtime because a writer must read or their writing will suffer).

I have high hopes for this story… and I hope you writers out there are also excited about what you’re working on. And I hope that, as soon as you’re done reading this, you get back to work. Even though it’s for fun, writing is a serious job. I love to write. It’s my life. When  I’m old and hobbling everywhere and can hardly make it up a flight of stairs, I’ll still be writing stories for the world.

For me it isn’t about making money. I have a full-time job that pays the bills. To be honest, I wish I could just hand my stories out to people for free so they can read and enjoy them. In fact, most days I wonder why I don’t do that. I want to know what people think. I want to see that glow in their eyes and be able to talk to them about the characters and all that happened. I want to be able to connect with people through these worlds and open their minds to see things the way I do.

Writing is art. Writers create doorways, portals, rabbit holes, whatever you want to call it! We give the world an escape route for when reality becomes too much. Or when we need to be lulled to sleep by the voice of someone we may never know. Or when we want to relax. Storytellers hold this world in such a way that, without them, this planet would be lost.

Take pride in your work, my dear writer friends.
Enjoy the stories we bring you, my lovely readers.
Writers and readers share a special bond that no one can deny.
We must hold true to one another…

Have a good weekend, everyone.

*E.L.M.*

1 Comment

  1. Stephen King threw “Carrie” in the trash after the first chapter. His wife dug it out, read it, then told him she would like to know what happens to the girl. I think that was his first big work.

    Like

Leave a Reply

