Alone and Awesome

Being single, silly, and secure

Weekend Blues

Hello, my peoples!

You’re back again? I am honored.

To be honest I am having a rather rough weekend. There have been some good points, but the bad points… Well, let me start from the beginning.

On Friday work went well as usual. I turned down Overtime on Saturday because I thought I would be spending the night at a friend’s house and watching movies until dawn, (at least that was my plan). My friend messaged me after work to let me know she was sick and so our movie night was canceled. I was okay with this; but I had a moment of debating in the parking lot over running back into work and telling them I’d come in on Saturday or just going home.

I had writing at home. Lovely, happy writing, and so I went home with no complaint. My Saturday would be all mine, and I was okay with that.

However, I came home to a pile of dirty dishes and a bathroom I needed to clean. I also found a puddle of water under my kitchen sink and discovered there was a leak, so I had to contact my landlords. After that I started cleaning, but when I was about to vacuum my fire alarm started to go off. It isn’t a “Beep, beep, beep, beep,” kind of alarm either. Mine goes “Beeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee” without a stop and really hurts the ears.

There was no smoke. I wan’t cooking. I didn’t smell anything. I did a lap around the building to see if any other alarms were going off.

Nothing.

Now, loud noises make me agitated, so I hurried back inside and pulled the alarm out of the ceiling and unplugged it, (No, mine is not battery powered so it did not need new batteries. If it is battery powered then I have no idea where they go because I examined the darn thing for a long time after pulling it out of the ceiling). I was shaky and jumpy for a long time. My microwave went off because I was making some tea and that gave me a heart attack. Yes… I dislike my fire alarm. This is not our first fight, and probably will not be the last.

After that ordeal I was sitting and listening to music and writing. I was still shaken from the loud alarm. It generally takes me a long time to calm down, but since I battled with the alarm for nearly a half hour I was EXTREMELY shaken and so paranoid I didn’t dare leave my house. That was how my day ended. I wrote until bed and went to sleep.

Saturday morning began with great promise! I woke up to birds singing, got ready for yoga, and had a fun class! Then I went home, took a shower, and prepared for a business meeting with my graphic designer, (aka, my sister). This meeting also went well and I left with a list of things I needed to do.

How funny… I thought I would be able to get through the list in one day.

I came home and got to work. This is where things go wrong.

I was searching for information I needed, but could not find what I needed. There was also necessary information I had to acquire to continue a project, but I lost the password to enter the only account where I could locate that information. So I was locked out of there after quite a few attempts to get in. I e-mailed the support for help. Then tried to take care of something else on my list and found I lack information there as well.

Lacking information sucks!!!

After trying again and again, searching all over google, and banging my head on the desk a few times, I end up wasting all my time to no amend.

Lovely…

My good morning was long forgotten and I sat wallowing in a well-earned moment of misery.

After a little while I decided to write a blog post. So here I am! Posting on my blog. It is currently 4:30 and I am wondering if my day can turn around. I am sure it can, but let’s be honest, it isn’t really as bad of a day as I thought.

You: Say what?

Me: Yes! It is not a bad day.

After writing out all the problems above I discovered it was fun and stressful, but not worthy of being called a “bad day”. I had a great morning with friends and family, and a productive night of writing before that. Yes, I did not complete anything on my list, nor will I for the next few weeks. I am at a loss until I get a reply to the email I sent, and now I have nothing to do.

Oh wait, yes I do! I’m a writer. I can write!

I could also read.

And I can also practice karate!

Nothing is gained when you close up because of the whiplash of disappointment. Even now I think about all that is ahead of me and I feel a flutter of stress in my stomach. I fear time is running out to do the things I need to do. I have to get things rolling, but I’m stuck until I get that reply!

Am I getting off topic?

I cannot imagine what kinds of mistakes I will make. I’ve already made so many. I know I have placed wrong information in places and assumed to know things I don’t. Heck, I even have to deal with taxes soon and THAT sure gets my pulse racing! I’ve bitten off more than I can chew, but I can’t spit it out. That would be yucky…

Matt. 6:27-34 [NKJV] “Which of you by worrying can add one cubit to his stature? So why do you worry about clothing? Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow: they neither toil nor spin; and yet I say to you that even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these. Now if God so clothes the grass of the field, which today is, and tomorrow is thrown into the oven, will He not much more clothe you, O you of little faith? Therefore, do not worry, saying, ‘What will we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For after all these things the Gentiles seek. For your heavenly Father knows that you need these things. But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added to you. Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about its own things.Sufficient for the day us its own trouble.”

These verses speak for themselves. Even though I failed to accomplish what I thought I needed to do today, the fact that it cannot yet be completed should be proof to me that God does not want it accomplished yet. I need to wait for His timing. There is no way I can rush God, so since I cannot do it today, I should not worry about it.

Make sense?

Yeah, I totally needed to hear myself say that also.

Don’t worry about it. Don’t stress about it. Mistakes can be fixed. Information can be found. Tasks can be accomplished in their due time. Worry doesn’t help us.

Worry eats us.

We’re like candy to worry.

Don’t get too close to that worry; IT’LL EAT YOU!!!

Have a good day, everyone! I am going to put on a movie, make some warm tea, and relax. God’s got my back, even when I feel like I’m falling without a tether to stop me.

I’m kind of hungry too…

Have a lovely weekend, my peoples!

E.L.

1 Comment

  1. Danielle Whittaker

    True.

    Like

Leave a Reply

