Alone and Awesome

Being single, silly, and secure

Peaceful

Good day, my fine following friends!

I know, I know, I’ve been gone for a long time. Working long hours at my day job, falling asleep when I have free time, and attempting to write when I wake up really takes a toll on ones body. I am currently writing under the influence of coffee and peppermint oil. It’s a lovely mixture that wakes one up rather well. Though I’ve not yet eaten solid food, so that would explain the sick stomach…

Ick…

Anywho! How have you been? As you already know, I’ve been busy as a bee with overtime at work and trying to write and play. I’m exhausting myself and took three very long naps yesterday. Out of the norm behavior right there. I hate taking naps, but three in one day is madness. My body must need recovery from these long days. And another long week is approaching like a looming storm cloud of grief over my head.

Ugh…

This morning has been quite calm though. I’ve had my coffee, took a nice shower, took a deep breath of the crisp, if not frigid, morning air, and already completed a lot of writing. I’m not working on my main novel, (shame on me), but finishing up an older story I started when I was little. It’s one of those stories with an intimidating name, but a rather cute story. It’s been delightful to write, but now that it’s actually coming to a close I felt bad letting my characters fade.

So…

I started another story. A sequel. It is a story all of its own, but it came from the one I’ve almost finished. Once again, shame on me for not working on my main novel! The thing is this story I’ve almost finished also needs a prequel. So in finishing it I’m creating two more stories to write, each one with a story unconnected to the one I’m currently writing, but also directly connected to it.

Does that make sense?

Well, either way, it doesn’t matter right now. I’m writing in hopes of catching up with you guys. I hope you’ve been well while I’ve been, uhm… less than well? Working myself into the ground and forgetting how to eat right and rest properly. I need more R&R than I give myself credit for. I tend to believe that if I have time to sit down then there’s something else I need to be doing. No wonder I’m getting dizzy spells and headaches all the time. I’m starting to think it’s directly connected with my lack of sleep.

Sleep…

I only have one thing to do today and that is shop for the week. I hate shopping. I don’t like being out and about around people, especially when I’m feeling sick and dazed. But it’s the only thing I have left to do! I cleaned, did my laundry, did my nails, and got lots of rest, so as soon as my shopping is over I can return to my warm computer with a mug of tea and return to my writing. I should get off my lazy butt and go shopping!

…but I hate shopping…

Why is grocery shopping no fun? I mean, I’m buying myself food. Why do I dislike that so much? Maybe because of all the people and the fact that I feel like everyone is judging what I have in my cart… Yes, that must be it. And fear that they will take my items and make me go through the drive up to collect them, which I have actively avoided for a whole year now!

I’m odd.

Anyway, I think I’ve taken up enough of your time. Remember, not all writing needs to have a point. I just wanted to reconnect with you guys. How about a “Happy Spring” or something in the comments so I know you’re reading this? It’s been a while since I’ve heard from you. Have you started gardening yet? Do you also hate shopping?

Or am I the only crazy one here?

I hope your day is good. The fact that you spent some time with me and my blog today is a blessing. Thanks for reading and I hope you have a great week.

Until we meet again, my friends!

Farewell!

~ E.L.M. ~

6 Comments

  1. RedheadedBooklover

    Hi there ! I don’t normally do this but I had to comment and tell you how much I adore your blog! I just came across it now and I am so happy I have, it is so wonderful and you truly have a great blog. I am going to follow you so I can keep up to date with all of your latest posts. Keep up the great work!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Why thank you! I’m glad to have you. 🙂 I always post randomly, so I hope you enjoy your stay. Welcome to my world, or whatever lol.

      Liked by 1 person

      • RedheadedBooklover

        Aww you are so welcome! You have a wonderful blog. Do you have Twitter or Instagram? I just made accounts and would love to follow you!

        Like

      • Twitter yes. Instagram no. @e_mendell is my Twitter account.

        Liked by 1 person

      • RedheadedBooklover

        Great I will follow you now thanks!

        Like

      • No problem. Also, since you’re a book lover, you should check out Goodreads—that is if you haven’t already. Read on, my friend!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment